City Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

  Evalyn W. Moore   
  Barry Head Shot with Edges  Carl Head Shot with Name 
Commissioner Position 1  Commissioner Position 2  Commissioner Position 3  Commissioner Position 4 
Terry Gaul  Barry Beard  Carl Drozd  Alex BeMent

 The City Commission is composed of a Mayor and four (4) Commissioners.

 Name Position   Term Expires E-Mail Address
 Evalyn W. Moore  Mayor 2020 
 Terry R. Gaul Commissioner Position 1  2021 
 Barry C. Beard Commissioner Position 2  2022
 Carl Drozd Commissioner Position 3  2021
 Alex BeMent Commissioner Position 4  2022

The Mayor and each Commissioner is elected at large and shall serve for a term of three (3) years and until their successor has been elected and duly qualified. Neither the Mayor nor either Commission Member’s terms of office shall expire in the same year, such that only one of them shall face election in any one year.

Transitional Provision: All of the City Commission Members holding office at the time of passage of the Charter shall continue to hold their respective office until their respective term of office for which they were elected expires. At the time of the May 2014 election, the Mayor shall have a three (3) year term and the two (2) newly elected Commissioners, immediately upon the canvassing of the May 2014 vote shall draw lots to determine which Commissioner’s term will expire in one (1) year and which Commissioner’s term will expire in two (2) years. A drawing of lots by Commissioners elected in May 2014 shall not be held if a Commissioner voluntarily requests the one (1) year term prior to the date of the canvassing of the election.

 Per SECTION 3.08 of the City Charter, the City Commission may hold at least one (1) regular meeting each month and as many additional meetings as it deems necessary to transact the business of the City. The City Commission has established, by ordinance No. 2013-09, the date and time of the regular meetings to be held the third Monday of every month at 4:30 p.m. at 600 Morton Street unless determined otherwise. The Commission may cancel or reschedule a regular meeting in response to an emergency, holiday schedules, or as useful for a more efficient accomplishment of the public business.